clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indians finalize 25-man roster for Opening Day

No surprises.

Cleveland Indians v Tampa Bay Rays Photo by Brian Blanco/Getty Images

The Cleveland Indians have released their 25-man roster for Opening Day, including the official announcement that four players will start the season on the 10-day disabled list.

The last pieces of the roster puzzle were Matt Belisle claiming the final bullpen spot, Tyler Naquin making the roster with Michael Brantley headed to the DL to start the season, and Brandon Guyer avoiding a DL stint as he returns from wrist surgery.

The starting rotation is set with ace Corey Kluber in his rightful place at the top spot, followed by Carlos Carrasco, Trevor Bauer, Josh Tomlin, and Mike Clevinger.

If you need a refresher on the four players on the 10-day DL:

  • Brantley has not suffered a setback in his recovery from right ankle surgery, but is not quite ready to shoulder a full workload, according to manager Terry Francona.
  • Danny Salazar is recovering from right rotator cuff inflammation. He was scheduled to throw off the mound today and is expected back around mid-April.
  • Ryan Merritt is resting a tired right shoulder that evidently stems from a left knee injury that hampered him throughout the winter and into the spring. Once activated, he could end up on waivers, as Merritt is out of minor league options.
  • Giovanny Urshela tweaked his right hamstring on March 19 and is expected to be out 10-14 days. It’s uncertain where he’ll end up once activated, as both he and fellow utility infielder Erik Gonzalez are out of minor league options.

In other roster news, the Indians designated outfielder Abraham Almonte and right-hander Ben Taylor for assignment to clear room on the 40-man roster for Belisle and Rajai Davis.