clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rick Porcello wins 2016 American League Cy Young Award

Kluber was robbed! (said the Cleveland homer)

Ken Blaze-USA TODAY Sports

Rick Porcello of the Boston Red Sox is your 2016 American League Cy Young Award winner, beating out 2011 winner Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers, and 2014 winner Corey Kluber, who we Cleveland Indians fans are pretty familiar with. You can find the complete voting results (by 30 members of the BBWAA) here.

Verlander received the most first-place votes, besting Porcello by the fairly comfortable margin of 14-8, but every voter had Porcello on their five-man ballot, and 26 of them had him in their top two, while Verlander was among the top two on "only" 16 ballots, and was left off the ballot entirely by two voters (both of whom represent the Tampa Bay Rays, for what that's worth). Baltimore Orioles closer (and Baltimore Orioles postseason game spectator) Zach Britton picked up five first-place votes, and finished fourth overall, while Kluber picked up the three remaining first-place votes, and like Porcello, was included on all thirty ballots.

Porcello's victory was definitely powered in part by his league-leading 22 wins, proof that those who believed the pitcher-win's power to be a thing of the past were too quick to believe they wouldn't be bothered by it again. Kluber probably would have gotten my vote, but I'm open to the possibility that I'm biased. Verlander and Chicago White Sox ace Chris Sale probably would have come next. That said, Porcello isn't an awful choice. He scores reasonably well when using more worthwhile measures of a pitcher's worth, if not at the top of the class.

One person who didn't take the results quite as tranquilly as me is Verlander's significant other, supermodel Kate Upton:

My main takeaway from that tweet is to remember there is zero reason to ever feel bad for Justin Verlander.