clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pre-Integration Era Committee announces results of Hall of Fame ballot

Back on December 7, the results from the pre-integration era committee results were announced. Apparently, nobody noticed.

Elsa/Getty Images

In the past week, we have covered this year's BBWAA ballot. But there is a second method of gaining entrance into the Hall of Fame. Formerly known as the Veteran's Committee, this vote is now split into three separate votes, The Pre-Integration Era (pre-1947); The Golden Era (1947-1972); and The Expansion Era (1973-present).

Last year, nobody got voted in (although Dick Allen and Tony Oliva missed by just one vote. This year, the vote was for the Pre-Integration era. There was a sixteen person voting panel with 75% needed for election. Also, voters are only allowed to vote for four of the ten candidates.

In December 2012, the committee voted in Hank O'Day, Jacob Ruppert and Deacon White in the last Pre-Integration Era vote.

Below is a brief description of each of the ten candidates (h/t to )

Doc Adams: New York Knickerbocker Base Ball Club, 1845-1861

Adams is credited with standardized the game's rules and regulations such as 90 feet between bases, nine man teams, and nine inning games. He also eliminated the "bound" rule where a player was out if the ball was caught after one bounce. He is also credited as the creator of the shortstop position.

Sam Breadon: St. Louis Cardinals owner 1917-1947

He hired Branch Rickey, worked with him to create the modern farm system and won six World Series titles during his ownership/presidency.

Bill Dahlen: Shortstop, 1891-1911

Finished his 21 year career with a 272/358/382, 110 OPS+ line with 413 2B, 163 3B, 84 HR and 546 SB. Played with the Chicago Cubs, Brooklyn Superbas (Dodgers), New York Giants and Boston Doves (Braves).

Wes Ferrell: Pitcher, 1927-1941

Ferrell came up with the Indians and won 20 games four time with them. He led the league with 25 wins in 1935 with the Red Sox and also pitched for the Washington Senators, New York Yankees, Brooklyn Dodgers and Boston Braves. He finished with a 193-128 record, 4.04 ERA, 116 ERA+, and 4.23 FIP. He threw 227 CG and also has 13 saves. He also is regarded as the best hitting pitcher in history.

August "Garry" Herrmann: Cincinnati Reds president 1902-1927

He was also baseball's National Commission chairman from 1903-1920. He helped foster peace between the rival American and National Leagues during the 1900-1910 decade as well as kick starting the World Series in 1903.

Marty Marion: Shortstop, 1940-1950, 1952-1953

Spent all but his final two years with the St. Louis Cardinals. He was the MVP in 1944 and finished in MVP voting seven times and made seven All-Star teams. Finished with a 263/323/345, 81 OPS+ line. Accumulated 25.0 dWAR in his career.

Frank McCormick: First baseman, 1934, 1937-1948

Was the Cincinnati Reds first baseman for ten seasons, winning the MVP in 1940. He finished in MVP voting eight times and made eight All-Star teams. He led the league in hits thrice, doubles once and RBI once. He finished with a 299/348/434, 118 OPS+, 128 HR, 954 RBI.

Harry Stovey: Outfielder/First baseman, 1880-1893

He played with the Worcester Ruby Legs from 1880-1882, and then with the Philadelphia Athletics from 1883 to 1889. Led the league in RS four times, 2B once, 3B four times, HR five times, RBI once, SB twice, and slugging three times.

Finished his career with a 289/361/461 144 OPS+ line, 347 2B, 174 3B, 122 HR, 908 RBI and 509 SB (which does not include data from 1880-1885).

Chris Von Der Ahe: St. Louis Browns (Cardinals) Owner/President 1881-1899

He owned the original St. Louis Browns in the American Association, who then jumped to the National League in 1892. After he sold them in 1899, they became the Cardinals. From 1885 to 1888, the franchise played in a postseason exhibition tournament against the National League winner. They tied in the first one 3-3-1, won the seond one 4-2, and then lost the last two 10-5 and 6-4.

Bucky Walters: Pitcher, 1934-1948, 1950

Walters started just shy of 400 games in his career, completing 242 of them, with 42 shutouts. He led the league in wins three times and ERA twice. He led the league in complete games three times and WHIP twice. He was the MVP in 1939 when he was 27-11 with a 2.29 ERA.

This year's committee consisted of Hall of Famers Bert Blyleven, Bobby Cox, Pat Gillick and Phil Niekro; major league executives Chuck Armstrong, Bill DeWitt, Gary Hughes and Tal Smith; and veteran media members Steve Hirdt, Peter Morris, Jack O'Connell, Claire Smith, Tim Sullivan, T.R. Sullivan, Gary Thorne and Tim Wendel.


If I had to pick a four person ballot, it would have been Adams, Ferrell and Stovey, leaving the last spot unoccupied.

Voting results

The results were announced on December 7, to little fanfare during the Winter Meetings. Doc Adams received 10 votes (62.5%), while Bill Dahlen and Harry Stovey took in 8 votes apiece (50.0%). All other seven candidates each received three votes or fewer.


So for the second year in a row, no one other than who gets voted in by the BBWAA will be honored in Cooperstown this summer.