clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Asdrubal Cabrera would have been only the 8th Indian to hit for the cycle

A look back at every cycle in franchise history, and how the Indians stack up against other teams when it comes to the feat.

David Richard-USA TODAY Sports

No one in MLB has hit for the cycle yet in 2014, with Cleveland's Asdrubal Cabrera having come the closest. He had the single, the double, and the home run, and he wound up at third base in his final at bat, but the play was ruled a double, with Cabrera only having advanced to third on the right fielder's throw home. Here's video of the play:

On the one hand, if the relay had gone to third base, and had been a decent throw, I think Cabrera would have been out. On the other hand, he never stopped running, I think it would have been reasonable to give him the triple. Alas, he had to settle for a second double.

If he'd been credited with the triple, he would have been the first member of the Indians to hit for the cycle since 2003. Here are the sven Indians (or Naps) to do it:

Bill Bradley (September 24, 1903) - Bradley became the first (and for 30 years, the only) player in team history to do it. He also had a spare double.

Earl Averill (August 17, 1933) - Averill scored a run after all four of his hits that day, the only player in franchise history to do so.

Odell Hale (July 12, 1938) - Hale, on the other hand, is the only Indian to hit for the cycle and not score after his single, his double, or his triple.

Larry Doby (June 4, 1952) - Doby drove in six runs while hitting for his cycle, the most of any player on this list.

Tony Horton (July 2, 1970) - Horton capped his cycle off by hitting the home run to lead off the 9th inning.

Andre Thornton (April 22, 1978) - Thornton became the first Indian to hit for the cycle before June in a 13-4 romp over Boston at Fenway Park.

Travis Hafner (August 14, 2003) - Hafner finished his cycle with an 8th-inning triple, one of only eleven three-baggers he hit during his ten years with the Tribe.

There have been 44 cycles around MLB since Hafner's including two apiece by Adrian Beltre and Aaron Hill. Hill did it twice only eleve days apart in 2012, which is the closest together any player has ever done it twice.

The only players in history to hit for the cycle more than twice are John Reilly, Bob Meusel and Babe Herman, each of whom pulled it off three times (Reilly back way back in the 1800s, Meusel in the 1920s, Herman in the 1930s).

The Indians' 7 cycles are the third-fewest of the 16 franchises that have been around since at least 1901. Last on that list are the White Sox, who have only 5 cycles in team history. Tops on the list are the Giants and Pirates, each of whom have had a player hit for the cycle 23 times. The Red Sox lead all AL teams with 20 cycles. At the bottom are the Marlins and Padres, who've never had a player hit for the cycle.

The Indians have had some hit for the cycle against them 10 times (mostly recently Mark Teixeira in 2004), which puts them in the middle of the pack. The Cardinals have allowed it 24 times, far more than any other team. Every active team has allowed someone to hit for the cycle, but the Marlins and Rays have each allowed only one.

The were eight different players who hit for the cycle in 1933 and 2009. We're nearly a quarter of the way through this season without anyone hitting one, so that record seems safe, but the last season without one was 1983, so odds are we'll get a couple at some point this year. Maybe even by an Indian.