clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Silver Sluggers Announced

And you thought a Tribesman won one, keep on dreaming.

Sorry guys, no metal bats this season
Sorry guys, no metal bats this season
Jared Wickerham

Just happened by chance to catch the show on the MLB network tonight. On the show, they would post up the old school stats of the top four or five players per position before announcing the award. Out of the seven positions (C, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, OF and DH) only two Indians players got mentioned as contenders for the award. More on that in a second, first off, the winners in the AL:

  • C: Joe Mauer, Twins, fifth career
  • 1B: Chris Davis, Orioles, first
  • 2B: Robinson Cano, Yankees, fifth career, fourth straight
  • 3B: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers, fourth career (one at 1B in AL; one in OF in NL), second straight
  • SS: JJ Hardy, Orioles, first
  • OF: Torii Hunter, Tigers, second career
  • OF: Adam Jones, Orioles, first
  • OF: Mike Trout, Angels, second career, second straight
  • DH: David Ortiz, Red Sox, sixth career
In the NL, the winners were Yadier Molina, Paul Goldschmidt, Matt Carpenter, Pedro Alvarez, Ian Desmond, Jay Bruce, Michael Cuddyer, Andrew McCutchen and Zack Grienke

Ok, back to the show, so the only two players that were in the running for the Tribe were Jason Kipnis and Carlos Santana. Kipnis from the All-Star break might have had an argument to beat out Cano, but Cano did finish with the better total numbers on the season. Even if Kipnis equaled Cano this year, my guess is Cano still would have one, and pretty easily too.

As for Santana, he'd have a better argument about finishing ahead of Mauer, but after looking at the numbers again, Mauer did end up with a better season. And both may "qualify" again at catcher next season, but I suspect both will end up with more time at first base than they did this year.

The Tribe has not had a winner since Victor Martinez tied with Pudge Rodriguez in 2004. Interesting to note that the Orioles had three winners. Just shows how poor their pitching was this season.

Finally, one last comment, in the group of five mentioned for all three outfield spots, one of the two that didn't win was Raul Ibanez. If he truly was the fourth or fifth best outfielder this season, then the AL had a very poor year cumulatively from all of the outfielders.

The BBWAA will announce their awards next week. Monday will be Rookie of the Year, Tuesday will be Manager of the Year, Wednesday will be the Cy Young an Thursday will be the MVP. All announcement shows are schedukled on the MLB network for 6 PM EST.