clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cleveland Indians news: Terry Francona wins AL Manager of the Year Award

Attaboy, Terry!


Terry Francona has been named American League Manager of the Year by the BBWAA.

Francona was one of three finalists for the award, along with John Farrell of the Boston Red Sox and Bob Melvin of the Oakland Athletics. Because Boston had the league's best record in 2013, a year after finishing last in the AL East, Farrell was widely considered to be the favorite, making Francona's win something of a surprise.

Francona led the Indians to 92 wins, a year after they won just 68 under former skipper Manny Acta, and has received rave reviews from his players all season long. I cant say Farrell or Melvin would have been a bad choice, but no one can complain with Francona being honored.

Francona received 16 of 30 1st-place votes, was listed on 28 of 30 ballots (George King of the New York Post and Asuka Iinuma Brown of the Jiji Press had the other two), and had a total of 112 points in the balloting. Farrell received 12 1st-place votes and had 96 points. Melvin received the other 2 1st-place votes and had 36 points. No other manager had more than 11 points.

You can find full results here at the BBWAA's website.

Clint Hurdle of the Pittsburgh Pirates won the National League's award.

More from Let's Go Tribe: