clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Hall of Fame Thread

Here's your chance to pretend to be a baseball writer! Fill out your 2006 Hall of Fame Ballot here, and feel free to vote based on grudges, gut feelings, and doctored statistics.

There are some rules, though:

The player must be eligible for the Hall of Fame:

  1.  A baseball player must have been active as a player in the Major Leagues at some time during a period beginning twenty (20) years before and ending five (5) years prior to election.
   2. Player must have played in each of ten (10) Major League championship seasons, some part of which must have been within the period described in 3 (A).
   3. Player shall have ceased to be an active player in the Major Leagues at least five (5) calendar years preceding the election but may be otherwise connected with baseball.
   4. In case of the death of an active player or a player who has been retired for less than five (5) full years, a candidate who is otherwise eligible shall be eligible in the next regular election held at least six (6) months after the date of death or after the end of the five (5) year period, whichever occurs first.
   5. Any player on Baseball's ineligible list shall not be an eligible candidate.

In other words, you can select from these players:

Rick Aguilera
Albert Belle
Bert Blyleven
Will Clark
Dave Concepcion
Andre Dawson
Gary DiSarcina
Alex Fernandez
Gary Gaetti
Steve Garvey
Dwight Gooden
Rich Gossage
Ozzie Guillen
Orel Hershiser
Gregg Jeffries
Tommy John
Doug Jones
Don Mattingly
Willie McGee
Hal Morris
Jack Morris
Dale Murphy
Dave Parker
Jim Rice
Lee Smith
Bruce Sutter
Alan Trammell
Walt Weiss
John Wetteland

You can vote for as many as 10, or you can vote for 0. To stimulate some discussion, a quick blurb about your reasoning would be appreciated.